Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

Aroha String Quartet


Known for their passionate musicality and impressive technique, the Aroha String Quartet bring us a programme high on drama and intensity.

While paying homage to Haydn and Mozart in his Op.18 quartets, Beethoven is also distinctly forward looking. The first quartet is highly dramatic and emotional, reflecting the composer’s inner struggles with his encroaching deafness.

Written in 1966, Schnittke’s String Quartet No.1 is a serial work, openly defying the strictures of the Soviet regime.

Britten’s String Quartet Op.94 No.3 reuses some of the material from his final opera, Death in Venice. The composer opens his heart in one of his finest and most sincere works.

Past Concerts

Sunday 01 August 2010 - Ilott Theatre, Wellington Town Hall


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2024

Log In