Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

Sunday 13 August - Ākarana Piano Quartet

Ākarana Piano Quartet

This ensemble encompasses four distinct solo voices coming together as one in an intense, exhilarating concert. The overall experience is one of rich, vibrant storytelling, connecting the key figures of European music with Aotearoa New Zealand – an opportunity for audiences to celebrate intimate music making of the highest quality.

Award-winning musicians Andrew Beer, violin, and Sarah Watkins, piano (Best Classical Artist 2020, NZ Music Awards) have formed Ākarana Piano Quartet for debut performances in 2023. They will be joined by two outstanding colleagues from the APO – principal violist Robert Ashworth and sub-principal cellist Chen Cao.

How to buy tickets:

Single tickets are $40, or $10 for those under 26. A school child attending with an adult who has purchased a full-price ticket is free.

You can buy single tickets by:

• Emailing and paying by internet banking to 38-9015-0271891-00 with your name in the reference so we can identify you

• Booking online at: Eventfinda Bookings (transaction fees apply)

• Booking over the counter at ‘Visitor i-Sites’ in Wellington, Lower Hutt, Carterton, Masterton and Martinborough

• Phoning Eventfinda: 0800BUYTIX or 0800 289 849 Note: Eventfinda will not accept postal bookings or payment by cheque. Tickets for all online and phone bookings will be emailed to you.

• At the venue: from 2:30pm on the day of the concert (cash only).

The concert is presented in association with Chamber Music NZ.

Sunday 13 August

3:00 pm, St. Andrew's on The Terrace

Joaquin Turina Piano Quartet in A minor, Op. 67

Bohuslav Martinů Piano Quartet No. 1, H287

Janet Jennings New commission after Paul Klee’s New Harmony

Robert Schumann Piano Quartet in E flat Major, Op. 47


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2024

Log In