Concert ProgrammeReviewsArchiveArtists

Sunday 09 May - Ibell & Thomson (cello and piano)

Ibell & Thomson (cello and piano)

Robert Ibell is a renowned chamber music exponent having played with the Nevine and Aroha Quartets and with Stroma, fortepiano-cello duo Hammers & Horsehair and indie-folk-rock group Milkthistle. He has played with the NZSO since 1993 and records with RNZ Concert.

Dunedin-born Wellingtonian Rachel Thomson gained a doctorate in piano performance from the Cleveland Institute of Music in the US. She regularly performs with some of the New Zealand’s leading musicians. She is a member of various chamber ensembles including the Koru Trio. She also records for RNZ Concert.

In Cello Journey the pair travel around the globe exploring different musical cultures, styles and periods.

How to buy tickets:

Single tickets are $40, or $10 for those under 26. A school child attending with an adult who has purchased a full-price ticket is free.

Series tickets are $210 for all 7 concerts and $60 for those under 26. These can only be purchased directly from SundayConcerts.

Click to download the one-page Booking Form

You can buy single tickets (transaction fees may apply) by:

• booking online at: Eventfinda Bookings

• booking over the counter at ‘Visitor i-Sites’ in Wellington, Lower Hutt, Carterton, Masterton and Martinborough

• phoning Eventfinda: 0800BUYTIX or 0800 289 849 Note: Eventfinda will not accept postal bookings or payment by cheque. Tickets for all online and phone bookings will be emailed to you.

• at the venue: from 2.30pm on the day of the concert (cash only).

The CMNZ Regional Series is supported by The Deane Endowment Trust Artist Development Fund.

Sunday 09 May

3:00 pm, St. Andrews on The Terrace

Manuel de Falla – Suite Populaire Espagnole

Claire Cowan (NZ) – New commission

Dmitri Shostakovich – Selections from ‘The Limpid Stream’

Nadia Boulanger – Three Pieces for Cello & Piano

Astor Piazzolla – Le Grand Tango

Johannes Brahms – Cello Sonata No 2 in F major Op 99


Copyright © Wellington Chamber Music Society Inc. 2021

Log In